AIRCRAFT ELECTRONICS

For more information, contact Trisha Drape, AEA director of communications, at 816-347-8400 or trishad@aea.net.

ASSOCIATION

For immediate release: April 2, 2009

More than \$120,000 in Scholarships Awarded Through AEA Educational Foundation

Scholarship Recipients Announced During Official Convention Opening

DALLAS, TEXAS — During the official opening of the 52nd annual AEA International Convention & Trade Show today in Dallas, Texas, the Aircraft Electronics Association announced the names of 33 individuals who were awarded more than \$120,000 in scholarships for the 2009/2010 academic year through the AEA Educational Foundation.

This year, the AEA was honored to administer the Jerry Smith Memorial Scholarship, which recently was announced by its sponsor company, Garmin. As one of Garmin's first regional sales managers, Jerry Smith, a highly respected aviator, was well known throughout the avionics and general aviation community. In his name, this scholarship will help bring the next generation of aviation enthusiasts into the field.

Individuals who were awarded scholarships today through the AEA Educational Foundation for the 2009/2010 academic year are:

- Garmin–Jerry Smith Memorial Scholarship: Christin Gleason, Stormville, N.Y.
- Leon Harris/Les Nichols Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics & Technology: Annemarie Korzon, Shrewsbury, Mass.
- Tom Taylor Memorial Scholarship to Spartan College of Aeronautics & Technology: Jordan Mrad, Ponca City, Okla.
- Thomas J. Slocum Memorial Scholarship to Redstone College (three awards): David Boyer, Northglenn, Colo. Benjamin Kalis, Port Huron, Mich.; Alejandro Olmos, El Paso, Tex.
- Texas State Technical College (two awards): Joshua Jones, Spring, Texas; Daniel To, San Angelo, Texas
- L-3 Communications Avionics Systems Scholarship: Bryce Weber, Teutopolis, Ill.
- Lee Tarbox Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by Pacific Southwest Instruments: Jacob Reidenauer, Boyertown, Pa.
- Garmin Scholarship: Wallace Frelander, Aitkin, Minn.
- AOPA Scholarship: Michael Peer, Shawano, Wis.
- Sporty's/Cincinnati Avionics Scholarship: Ryan Perez, Salina, Kan.
- Honeywell Scholarship: Jason Hoxworth, Killbuck, Ohio
- Field Aviation Scholarship: Alannah Park, Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
- Duncan Aviation Scholarship: Jeremy Wilcox, Arvada, Colo.

- Mid-Continent Instruments Scholarship: Neil Sqrow, Indianapolis, Ind.
- Rockwell Collins Scholarship: Mark Hestand, Miami, Okla.
- Southeast Aerospace Scholarship: Christopher Harter, Kokomo, Ind.
- Sporty's Foundation Recreational Pilot Certificate (two awards): Eugene Stephens, Dry Branch, Ga.; David Kaminsky, Columbus, Ohio
- Kei Takemoto Memorial: Kenneth Hammond, Lawrenceville, Ga.
- Bud Glover Memorial Scholarship: Matthew Sides, Media, Pa.
- David Arver Memorial Scholarship: Clinton Hemingway, Lawrenceville, Ga.
- Dutch & Ginger Arver Memorial Scholarship: Kevin Flory, Bay City, Mich.
- Johnny Davis Memorial Scholarship: Shane Cox, Dallas, Texas
- Lowell Gaylor Memorial Scholarship: Eric Reynolds, Brighton, Ma.
- Gene Baker Memorial Scholarship: Jean Tripp, Pendleton, N.Y.
- Chuck Peacock Memorial Scholarship: Ryan Deming, Saint Charles, Mich.
- Jim Cook Honorary Scholarship: Whitney Smith, Olathe, Kan.
- Don C. Hawkins Memorial Scholarship for AEA Member Private Pilot's License: Dave McCalman, Farmington Hills, Mich.
- Flying Magazine's Private Pilot's License (two awards): Amy Anderson of Redmond Air, Redmond, Ore.; Scott Shaff of Evans Avionics, Traverse City, Mich.

The AEA Educational Foundation awards scholarships to students pursuing a career in the general aviation maintenance and aircraft electronics industry. The intent of these scholarships is to identify and reward those

individuals who best exemplify the qualities that lead to success in the aviation industry.

The Foundation was started in 1990 to enhance, promote and secure the future of aviation and the AEA by furthering the education of students, technicians, members of the AEA and others as determined by aviation industry needs. Since its inception, the AEA scholarship program has awarded more than \$1 million in scholarships. Numerous awards are available, ranging from \$1,000 to more than \$35,000 each.

Requests for complete scholarship packages for the 2010/2011 academic year can be made after Oct. 1, 2009, online at www.aea.net/Scholarship. The deadline for returning applica-

tions is Feb. 15, 2010. Descriptions of each scholarship and applications are avail-

Avionics Excellence Awaits

able online. These scholarships will be awarded during opening of the 53rd annual AEA International Convention & Trade Show, which takes place from April 7-10, 2010, in Orlando, Fla.

For more information about the AEA Educational Foundation, contact Mike Adamson, vice president of member programs and education, at 816-347-8400 or send e-mails to mikea@aea.net.

— 30 —

The Aircraft Electronics Association represents more than 1,300 companies from throughout the world specializing in maintenance, repair and installation of avionics and electronic systems in general aviation aircraft. AEA membership also includes manufacturers of avionics equipment, instrument repair facilities, instrument manufacturers, airframe manufacturers, test equipment manufacturers, major distributors, engineers and educational institutions.